Skip to content

Scottish Crime Fiction: Tartan Noir

Sharon Priestley (Dr)

Course Title: Scottish Crime Fiction: Tartan Noir

Course Code: 4XSC10A19

Start Date: 19/09/2019

Day of the Week:
  • Thursday

Session: Afternoon

Length in weeks: 10

Time: 2:00pm to 4:00pm

Price: £

This course celebrates crime novels based in Scotland and analyses excellent ones that are first in a series. We begin with Ian Rankin’s Knots and Crosses (1987) where we meet Detective John Rebus, a compellingly complex Edinburgh cop. Next, we consider Ann Cleeves’ award-winning Raven Black (2006) in which a Shetland Island community lives in fear and suspicion when an inhabitant is murdered. Finally, we read The Blackhouse (2011), by Peter May, set in the Outer Hebrides; the fascinating characters and wonderful descriptions of the Lewis landscape make this a memorable reading experience.

Scroll To Top